Voracious book buying

I enjoyed reading James Wood’s account in a recent edition of The New Yorker (not freely available online unfortunately) of clearing out his father-in-law’s library, after the older man died. I particularly liked Wood’s description of his father-in-law’s almost aggressively voracious approach to buying books, which made me wonder if I do this already myself, and if I do, whether that was a good thing.

…as he got older and busier, he acquired far more books than he could read […]. The acquisition of a book signalled not just the potential acquisition of knowledge but also something like the property rights to a piece of ground: the knowledge became a visitable place.

Leave a Reply

